Penne with Chicken and Sun-Dried Tomatoes

I’M BACK!!!

It has been over a week now since our last major snow storm and there has even been some major melting going on here so things are starting to get back to normal.  I hope I didn’t just jinx myself!

I have been in a cooking rut lately.  Maybe it is the multiple feet of snow outside and the fact that we are constantly on snow removal duty this winter, but I haven’t been spending enough time in the kitchen cooking on my new gas range that I got for Christmas :).  I feel like I have been making the same things for dinner over and over, so I am on a mission to try some new recipes.  I came across a few recipes on Pinterest and although they sounded good, nothing was exactly what I was looking for so I decided to craft this one up on my own.  It turned out to be a big hit and I will definitely be making this again!  It is also a quick weeknight meal recipe, which I need more of.

Penne with Chicken and Sundried Tomato - LiveDineParty

Penne with Chicken and Sundried Tomato - LiveDineParty

Penne with Chicken and Sundried Tomato - LiveDineParty

Ingredients

  • 4 oz. Sun-dried Tomatoes (packed in oil)
  • Olive Oil
  • Handful of Fresh Basil
  • 1 Large Garlic Clove (if you love garlic feel free to add more)
  • 1 Tbs. Pine Nuts (optional)
  • Chicken, cut into tenders
  • Flour
  • 1/2 lb Penne
  • Half & Half
  • Salt & Pepper to taste

Directions

First, make the sun-dried tomato pesto.  In a food processor, combine the sun-dried tomatoes, 3 Tbs. oil from the sun-dried tomatoes, 2 Tbs. olive oil, garlic, basil, pine nuts, salt & pepper.  Blend together.  Add additional olive oil if necessary.

In a medium pot, boil water and cook the penne pasta.  Make sure to reserve some pasta water as you will need it to add to the sauce.

While the water boils, dredge the chicken in flour.  Heat 3 Tbs. of olive oil in a medium skillet over medium/high heat.  Cook the chicken until golden brown on both sides.  Add the sun-dried tomato pesto and cook on low.  Add the cooked penne to the skillet.  Add pasta water, a little at a time, to thin out the sauce.  Once the sauce is at your desired consistency, add the half and half to make the sauce a little creamy.  I don’t have an exact measurement for the half and half because everyone likes a different level of creaminess to their sauces.  I tend to just add a little bit at time, maybe 1-2 Tbs. total.  Add salt and pepper to taste and enjoy!

Comments

