Zucchini Flower Pizza

Zucchini Flower Recipe #2…pizza.

Zucchini Flower and Carmelized Onion Pizza - LiveDineParty

If I had to choose one food to eat for the rest of my life, I would definitely choose pizza.  When it comes to pizza, I don’t have that thing in your head that tells you “stop eating you are full.”  I’m usually a pretty basic pizza topping person, but the zucchini flowers make this recipe a little gourmet, which I love.  I would just like to note that my husband is one of those people I mentioned that think I’m crazy when it comes to zucchini flowers and he really enjoyed this!

Zucchini Flower and Carmelized Onion Pizza - LiveDineParty Zucchini Flower and Carmelized Onion Pizza - LiveDineParty

Ingredients

  • Pizza dough (I used store bought this time, but if you are feeling up to it, my go to pizza dough recipe from Tyler Florence can be found here)
  • Olive Oil
  • Butter
  • 1 onion
  • 1 large zucchini, diced
  • 7-8 zucchini flowers
  • Sauce
  • Mozzarella
  • Ricotta

Directions

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees.  Place a pizza stone in the oven to heat.  If you don’t have a pizza stone, you can use a regular baking sheet, but there is no need to preheat the pan.

In a small skillet melt 1 Tbs. of butter and add the onions.  Cook slowly, stirring until soft.  Add the zucchini.  Cook until onions are caramelized and zucchini is soft.  Place aside.

Roll out the pizza dough.  Place on hot pizza stone, brush with olive oil and put it in the oven.  I like to cook my dough until it is just starting to brown.  This ensures a crispy crust without overcooking the toppings.  Add the sauce, mozzarella cheese, caramelized onions and zucchini.  Place the zucchini flowers on the pizza and dollop ricotta cheese in between the flowers.

Cook until cheese is bubbly and crust is golden brown.  Enjoy and try not eat it the whole pizza yourself! 🙂

Comments

