Eggplant Tomato and Mozzarella Stacks

I love eggplant, I love tomatoes and I love fresh mozzarella and this appetizer has all three!  I have seen several variations of this on Pinterest and I don’t know what took so long for me to try my own version.  It is really easy to make and great as a leftover, which is good because one eggplant makes a lot.  I served it as an appetizer, but I personally could eat this as a meal.

Eggplant Tomato and Fresh Mozzarella - LiveDineParty

Ingredients

  • Eggplant
  • Fresh mozzarella
  • Tomatoes
  • Olive oil
  • Salt & pepper

Directions

Cut the eggplant into 1/2 inch thick slices.  You can either peel or leave the skin on, whichever you prefer.  Salt the eggplant and thoroughly dry it.  Salting eggplant before cooking is an important step to getting the right taste and texture.  It also helps prevent the eggplant from absorbing too much oil when cooking.

Brush both sides of the eggplant slices with olive oil and add a little crushed black pepper.  I was planning on grilling the eggplant, but the weather did not cooperate so I decided to use my grill pan instead.  It came out great, but there is nothing like that real grill flavor so I will have to try it again when it is not pouring out.  Grill the eggplant on both sides until tender.

Eggplant Tomato and Fresh Mozzarella - LiveDineParty Eggplant Tomato and Fresh Mozzarella - LiveDineParty

In the meantime, slice the tomato and fresh mozzarella.  Once the eggplant is cooked, place the eggplant on a baking sheet and stack the tomato and mozzarella.  Adding a fresh basil leaf would also add to the dish, but unfortunately I made this before my basil was ready for picking.  Bake at 350 degrees until the cheese is bubbling about 15-20 min.  Serve warm or at room temperature and enjoy!

 

Comments

