Dessert in a Jar

Strawberry Shortcake in a Jar - LiveDineParty

I had some friends over for a simple BBQ this past weekend and for dessert, I decided on an easy strawberry shortcake.  This dessert is one of my summer favorites.  It is super easy and I definitely took some shortcuts :).  It was more of a semi-homemade dessert than my usual from scratch dessert.

I cut up fresh strawberries the morning of and added a little water, sugar and lemon juice to help the juices to develop.  I did make homemade whipped cream because it is always better than the store-bought stuff and very quick and easy to make.  You can find my go to whipped cream recipe here.  For the cake, I used a store-bought angel food cake.

I layered the shortcake in a mason jar, starting with the angel food cake, then the strawberries and finally the whipped cream.  Using an 8 oz mason jar, I was able to fit two layers of each ingredient.  They were the perfect size.  I prepared them earlier in the day so they were ready for my guests to eat right out of the jar.

Strawberry Shortcake in a Jar - LiveDineParty

Although it was a semi-homemade dessert, it was delicious, easy and the presentation made it super cute and perfect for a casual BBQ!  Has anyone made any other desserts in a jar?  I will definitely be trying more desserts in a jar soon 🙂

Comments

