My Favorite Place…

Sorry it has been a little while since my last post, but I have taken on a bit of a project that has been keeping me very busy.

I recently posted about daydreaming about enjoying cocktails in our screened in porch.  Well it is official, our screened in porch is my favorite place in our new house.

Screened in Porch - LiveDineParty

Screened in Porch - LiveDineParty

When we started looking for a house, a screened in porch was on my “must have” list.  Would I of bought a house without one, yes.  But, one would have been built that first summer if there already wasn’t one!  Not only do I just love a screened in porch for a sitting area to relax and enjoy the beautiful weather, a morning coffee, a cocktail, a book, writing a blog post (I’m actually writing this post from there now) or just staring at our peaceful yard, but I need one.  Me and mosquitoes do not mix and if there are any outdoor activities after dusk, I have to retreat to the indoors by myself.  I have tried every type of bug spray and my husband even bought me one of those OFF! things you clip on your belt to keep the bugs away (which he laughs at every time I use) and nothing seems to work quite good enough.  Our screened in porch will be the solution to my problem!

This is the one room I have had designed in my head since the moment our offer was accepted.  I wanted it to be a great place for entertaining and I wanted it to feel like a family room just outdoors.  I also knew I wanted wicker and I wanted SunbrellaTM fabric.  I was advised by a friend that if I was going to have cushions outside, not to buy anything besides SunbrellaTM.  It resists mold and mildew, which is essential in the humid New England summer, and it is stain resistant.  It is to be determined whether or not my white cushions will survive a few red sangria spills this summer :), but it does come with a 5 year limited warranty so I have to believe it will survive.

I thought knowing exactly what I wanted would make it easy, well I was wrong.  Wicker and SunbrellaTM are not cheap.  Finding a good quality set that was going to last us years and be within our budget proved to be a difficult task.  But with my online shopping skills, I was up for the challenge.

I can’t even begin to tell you how many conversation sets I looked at online before deciding on the Allen & Roth Belanore set from Lowes.  I really loved this set from the beginning, but I was hesitant because of the price.  Well, my patience (and indecisiveness) paid off.  Throw in a 20% off sale, and just like that, my decision was made.  I am so happy with our choice.  It is comfortable, looks amazing and feels sturdy.

I added an outdoor rug to tie the room together and make it feel inviting.  I went with a wide black and white stripe so that I could add any accent color I want.  I love a stripe for outdoor décor.  The rug is from Frontgate.  This is my first purchase with them, and I would highly recommend it.  I got a great deal on the rug and it shipped super fast.  The rug is made with a weather and UV resistant material and seems to be a really good quality that can handle being outdoors.

Screened in Porch - LiveDineParty

I also purchased a few colorful end tables from Wayfair.  I generally like neutral colors (as you can see from my indoor decorating), but for the outdoors I love a pop of color.  They were fairly cheap and they are made with cedar so they can withstand the elements of the outdoors.

The toss pillows are from Land of Pillows via Etsy.  I just love the yellow and orange flower pattern.

Screened in Porch - LiveDineParty

A few more colorful accents and fresh begonias and I am perfectly happy with how it turned out :).  I will be spending a lot of time here this summer!

Screened in Porch - LiveDineParty

One thought on “My Favorite Place…

Comments

