Lamps, rugs and more…

When we moved into our house, we knew the first room we wanted to furnish was the living/family room.  We have an entire house to furnish, but this is the space we will use the most and entertain in the most (besides our screened in porch, which is my next decorating project).  Our furniture is being delivered this weekend so I have a weekend full of decorating to do, but here is a taste of what I have been up to so far.

Well, I ordered the furniture back in January and wasn’t expecting it to be delivered until the end of March.  Well surprise!…it is ready early.

With all of the painting and projects we have been doing around the house, I haven’t had a chance to do much shopping for rugs, accent tables and lamps.  So, when I got the call that my furniture was ready to be delivered, it put me in full panic mode.  I would like the room to be finished, but my husband doesn’t feel the same urgency.

I have literally been to Home Goods every other day, in every location near me and my parents.  I love finding amazing stuff there.  I have purchased every lamp and bench in each of the stores.  I currently have half of their lamp inventory in my living room so that my husband and I can decide which ones we like best.

Here are my top choice so far…

(1)Crystal Lamp - LiveDineParty Crystal Lamp - LiveDineParty

(2)Crystal Lamps - LiveDineParty Crystal Lamps - LiveDineParty

I am undecided on which one I like better.  I love that #1 will add a modern touch to a pretty traditional room without being too modern. #2 looks a little more traditional to me and I don’t know why (could just be the style of the shade).  I just can’t decide if it is too bulky or not.  Any thoughts??  Either way, the crystal is so pretty!

I have also purchased several benches for our mini make-shift mud-room located in our family room right when you walk in the front door.  We don’t have a true mud room (insert sad face here), so we have some hooks up for coats and I thought a bench would look great and serve as a place to sit and put your shoes on.  My mom has even been on the hunt and brought by an option for us.  I think I finally decided on one, which my husband does not like, but guess what, he is getting outvoted on that one!  What does he know about benches anyways???  The color is also perfect for the color scheme I’m going for…stay tuned for more on that!

Bench - LiveDineParty

Bench - LiveDineParty

What do you think?

Next on the agenda…an area rug.  These past few weeks, I have been to way more rug stores than I even knew existed.  I have learned that the price of hand-knotted oriental rugs is absurd.  We are still on the hunt for the perfect rug, but I’m determined to find it…I know it’s out there.  Here are a few that we are considering…

(1)-(3)Hand-knotted Oriental Rugs - LiveDineParty

(4) Hand-knotted Oriental Rugs - LiveDineParty

(5)Hand-knotted Oriental Rugs - LiveDineParty (6)Oriental Rug - LiveDineParty

(7)Oriental Rug - LiveDineParty

Anyone have a vote???

I’m having so much fun decorating and I can’t wait to share the finished room…hopefully it is sooner than later, but there are still too many decisions to make :).

4 thoughts on “Lamps, rugs and more…

    • Thanks! I originally tried a tufted bench in that spot, but I just didn’t love it. A cushion might be a perfect addition!

  1. Great choices, I love the lamp and the bench looks perfect in that space.The rugs all look like good choices, I’m leaning toward rug #2. Have fun shopping and decorating.
    Lena

    • Thanks Lena! Of course you pick the most expensive rug!!! I look at the pictures of the rugs several times a day and still can’t make a decision.

Comments

